Finding Answers

Since my diagnosis of breast cancer, I have been searching my mind for a cause. Of course, I had my surgery remove the cancer, but, I really gave a lot of thought as to whether to have chemotherapy. As I searched for answers, I came across some books and one in particular that has led me to my answers. It is Suzanne Somers book, “Knockout Interviews with Doctors Who are Curing Cancer and how to Prevent Getting it in the First Place”. I cannot recommend it highly enough for everyone and especially those dealing with illness, and not just cancer. This book led me to doctors that are actually looking into what caused me to get cancer and not just treat my symptoms. Naturally, it is important to deal with the symptoms, but, it kept nagging at me as to why we were not addressing the underlying issue of the cause. How else can I prevent another episode if we don’t know what caused the initial? The doctors I am now going to are listed in Somers book and they are holistic doctors. Their approach to my cancer was what I was looking for. They agreed that my mastectomy was the right thing to do and that it is usually good to get rid of the tumor. They also were quite pleased with my decision to not get chemo as they said that most cancers, including breast cancer are not helped by chemo. They also emphasized the fact that there is a test called a chemo sensitivity test that will identify the type of chemo that will combat the cancer and tell whether or not any will work. These tests are typically performed inGermany. I can’t understand why they are not done here. The doctors were very clear that the goal now would be to look for the cause and take care of that so I don’t get cancer again or something else just as bad.

At this point, I have had many tests performed and we have gone over them all in detail and the results have been quite interesting. First of all, my hormones are completely out of whack and even became worse when my Oncologist put me on an estrogen blocker which I am now off. To help with this and all the side effects, I have started bioidentical hormone replacement therapy. Second, I have extremely high mercury in my system and my cadmium and lead are too high as well. I am having a thermo gram to see where the mercury is most concentrated and then will go to an integrative dentist to begin changing out my fillings. I will be interested to see the results of this picture as sometimes the side where the mercury is most concentrated correlates with the side of the cancer. Next, I will begin chelating IV’s to get these metals out of me and each of these IV’s will be followed by a nutritional IV to put the good nutrients, taken out by the first IV, back in. I have also been put on various supplements that I take up to 5 times a day. The supplements coincide with my tests that show where I am healthy and where I am lacking and in need of nutritional support. One thing I have been delighted about is that the doctors don’t just test and tell me what to do. They test, they hand me a copy of the results and go over each result and explain what can be done to make it better. I am actually a party to my health. I can’t understand why my oncologist didn’t do any of this with me. He did test and just told me what I should do and didn’t give me a copy or go over much of anything. Maybe it is just this one oncologist, but, I don’t like being left out of my care plan.

I must say that this holistic approach makes a lot of sense to me and I cannot state enough that everyone should try to get to a holistic doctor because they are curing cancer and other illnesses. I know many people are skeptical and will just laugh and brush it off, but, I will be an advocate for holistic medicine as it makes sense to me and I like the results these doctors are getting. I will continue with my typical medical doctors, especially my surgeons, but, I intend to change over the bulk of my care to my new holistic doctors. Since my first visit, I have told my niece, Jessica, about it and she has gone and is getting some answers. The mainstream medical community didn’t seem to be able to solve the problems she has had for years, but, it took some in depth testing and a couple of visits for the holistic docs to find what the others could not. My husband is also going too. He doesn’t have any pressing medical issues, but, we thought it would be nice to keep it that way. As soon as I get through the majority of my health issues, my next step is to get Parker in to see them. Who knows what they may find to help him and all his issues? Wouldn’t it be great if they could help him be healthier? What kind of improvements could he make with the right treatment plan in place?

About Lori Linn

Besides writing, Lori has been an Actress both on stage and in film, is currently a member of SAG and AFTRA, and is a credentialed teacher as well as her full time job as a mom.
This entry was posted in Children's book, novel, non-fiction, seizures, epilepsy, VNS, special needs, disability, Mowat Wilson Syndrome, Mowat Wilson Syndrome, disability, special needs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

