Time Out to Write

I haven’t written in awhile because life has been so busy that I catch myself coming and going. As I sit here writing, I am getting my chelating IV and at last I can put down my thoughts. I am having surgery number 3 next week and that is my last hospital surgery. My last one will be in the doctor’s office. I think this one will not be near as hard as the previous ones and I will be happy to have it behind me. This chelation is my 5th and I will be done after 12. I am looking forward to being well and focusing time and attention on other things, especially on Parker. Every time I have surgery, I have to figure out a schedule for aides to make sure we have continuous coverage. This has proven to be a giant pain. It seems that there is a massive shortage of good CNA’s.

 

Speaking of good CNA’s, our aide of 2 1/2 years just up and quit this week and we are puzzled as to why. We knew that she was giving notice for the end of the month because her nursing school was to a point that there would be no time for work. She had been acting strangely for several weeks and once again we are not sure of why. The timing is just as odd as it was days before Parker’s birthday and the week before this next surgery. We have trouble understanding how someone goes from a close relationship to a cold distant breaking away. This surprise departure made me consider possibly rescheduling my surgery to allow time for the agency to find more aides for us. I was told they could make it work, but, I am nervous about this actually happening. Especially after today as I was told we could have an aide we have had only a couple of times; and, then today after I was getting my fillings replaced and there was nothing I could do to reverse course, I found out she could not come. So here I sit hoping my IV will go quickly and I can get home so Lee can get to work. Who knows what tomorrow brings. All I can say is if we are stuck again with no aide, I will need to fly home after the nutritional IV and possibly skip lunch.

 

Speaking of lunch, we thought it would be fun to have Parker’s birthday party at Chuck E Cheese and give him his first kid’s party. This was almost a complete failure until I found out a couple of days ago that one boy from his class will be coming. We invited 8 kids and only this one responded. I don’t understand when parents just ignore invites. I also don’t understand why so many kids in special education in our district are so uninvolved in their kid’s lives. Apparently, this is how many of them are. I was hopeful it was just the class at the last school, but, this school has the same problem. It is sad because these kids need parental involvement more than the typical kids. God is giving these people the opportunity to be better individuals and they are failing. It makes me sad to think that so many kids have lousy or just mediocre parents. All I can do is the best I can with Parker and pray that the other children’s parents will improve.

 

So, life has been busy and I don’t see a slow down in the near future. I will try harder to keep up on my posts and writing during chelation seems to be the ticket.

 

About Lori Linn

Besides writing, Lori has been an Actress both on stage and in film, is currently a member of SAG and AFTRA, and is a credentialed teacher as well as her full time job as a mom.
This entry was posted in novel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

